Wilson, The First of the 4 Legged Newborn Session at Kimberly Sarah Photography

July 28, 2016

I started my 4 Legged Newborn Sessions with Wildrose Wilson an adorable 8 week old full bred Black Lab. He is part of Wildrose Kennels – Gentleman’s Gundogs. This puppy will be fully trained by Tim Clancy and ready to live with his owner in a years time. I however, reaped the benefits of this beautiful creature. He was a perfect Black Lab, show quality, and a puppy with lots of energy! Here is how my day with Wilson went…

Dog Photographer, Interior Decorator, International Woman of Travel, all titles I have dreamt of for myself. Today I got to be at least two of them.

One of the more enjoyable aspects of being a Dog Photographer is set designing, like interior design, just on a smaller scale and a lot less permanent. Something happens to my mind every-time I have a dog portrait session. This time for the 4 Legged Newborn Sessions, and after seeing a snapshot of Wilson, my mind exploded! I had a few days to prepare, which yes, meant SHOPPING!!! I wanted a more Artsy, High Styled shot. As rambunctious as he was, I got the shot. One down!

Kimberly Sarah Photography - Wilson Newborn--10

During my phone consultations with my clients, I find out what they are about, what they do for work and how their dog is a part of their family. I like to learn as much as I can about the puppy/dog, energy level, age, any health problems etc. Since Wilson was a friendly referral, Bud told me Tim, his trainer was a fireman. Of course we want his coat and helmet! Two Down!

Kimberly Sarah Photography - Wilson Newborn--4

So on we went, now I have to mention that Tim and Danielle (owners/trainers)were very helpful in wrangling Wilson. No dog should be left alone on a table or set. Ever. I have to be behind the camera most of the time so with puppies you certainly need a handler.

Concept number 3. Howdy Pardner! A Western theme came to mind. Boots from home, cowboy hat from the prop room and a purchased great looking old fashioned wooden bucket. Insert puppy and you have a nice warm and friendly image.

Kimberly Sarah Photography - Wilson Newborn--3

We continued to concept 4, 5, 6 and lastly 7, an adorable set up for an adorable puppy. It’s simple but I believe it let’s you really see how cute Wilson is and let’s you connect with him. Sleepy time for puppy, getting ready to chase some squirrels in his dreams. Thank you sweet boy for being, well…just you…

Kimberly Sarah Photography - Wilson Newborn--8

Are you ready for your Professional Dog Portrait? Are you expecting? Book a 4 Legged Newborn Session! I’d love to see what we can create.

http://www.KimberlySarahPhotography.com

Author: Kimberly Sarah Photography

Owner / Photographer Kimberly Sarah Photography.

One thought on “Wilson, The First of the 4 Legged Newborn Session at Kimberly Sarah Photography”

Leave a comment