Three Great Dane Puppies, One Darn Good Dog Photographer

July 30, 2016

Ok, all kidding aside, I do not boast about my work or talents.

As a Dog Photographer we meet all kinds of people and dogs. This particular day I was about to meet three 4 1/2 week old Great Dane Puppies. Oh. My. Goodness! I could not wait! As you may have seen Wilson was in a few days before for his fine art dog portrait. He was to be the first of our newly announced 4 Legged Newborn Sessions. Wilson as you may recall was 8 weeks old, well these amazing Great Danes walk in at 4 1/2 weeks and are the same size as Wilson! A Dog Photographers dream challenge.

For me, I form a concept (thank you Bud Thorpe for driving this home) before the shoot. My concept was for these three puppies all sleeping nicely in a dresser draw I brought to the studio from home. It was silver so I knew it would work well with their coloring. It helps to get a picture of your subject before they are in your studio.

I started, one puppy at a time. They were wiggly, squirmy and full of life! A challenge indeed. Sit, Stay, recite the Battle Hymn of the Republic all meant the same to them, remember they were 4 1/2 week old puppies. Not much time to lean anything, they just opened their eyes 3 weeks ago. But it was great fun. Their human mom’s were fantastic to work with. We made some adorable photos in the first concept I had. Here is Spree in here pink basket.
Kimberly Sarah Photography - Great Dane Newborn-BG1

Now comes the challenge – Three sleeping dogs…

It took time, talent and lots of hugging and whispering to each puppy. First JuJu, just the sweetest, blue eyed puppy. She was on her way to tired so that seemed easy. Next was Pixie, the runt of the litter and most curious. She took a bit longer to get to sleep, holding her like a newborn baby, she eventually feel asleep too. Phew! Ok, now for Spree, she was all the way awake. Was not at all interested in slowing down. However, time and talent was at play and asleep she went. Each puppy, one by one was placed in the draw. One waking while the others sleep. On and on it went. Until, our serendipitous moment….

Kimberly Sarah Photography - Great Dane Newborn-6230

All three sleeping like the adorable puppies they are! Oh the joy!

You can see more images on my website or Facebook page

Learn more about SOPHA! The Studio of Photographic Arts

 

 

 

Author: Kimberly Sarah Photography

Owner / Photographer Kimberly Sarah Photography.

2 thoughts on “Three Great Dane Puppies, One Darn Good Dog Photographer”

Leave a comment